AIDH facebook
Select Page


Don Walker Awards

Best Industry and Clinical Abstract Award

Presented at the AIDH annual Health Informatics Conference.

About the awards

The Don Walker Awards recognise the best submitted industry and clinical case study abstracts for AIDH’s annual Health Informatics Conference (HIC).

  • Best Industry Abstract
  • Best Clinical Abstract

Finalists are drawn from the HIC call for papers process. Submissions are subject to a double-blind peer review as per the HIC review guidelines. The winner is determined by the review score and the presentation of the abstract at the HIC conference.


All Industry and Clinical abstracts submitted to HIC will automatically become candidates for the Don Walker Awards.

  • Authors do not need to be a member of AIDH to be eligible
  • Submissions must be original work and not previously presented before (material that has been previously presented
  • ONLY at a conference outside Australia will be considered, provided the paper is not identical to any that has been previously published)
  • The abstract submitted must be in English
Selection & review process

The following criteria determine the score for the Don Walker Award:

  • 50% is based on the Industry/Clinical reviews
  • 50% is based on the presentation of the paper at HIC


  • Where two (2) abstracts are given the same total score a joint award shall be recommended.
  • Authors will submit their abstracts under with Industry or Clinical categories.
  • Submissions will be subject to double-blind peer review as per the HIC review guidelines.
  • In each award category, the five (5) papers with the highest scores from the HIC review process will be shortlisted for further assessment by the Don Walker Award committee based on presentation.
  • Presentations are to be reviewed according to the following selection criteria; tone and body language, audio-visual material and their overall audience engagement.
Award presentation

Winners will be presented with their awards at the AIDH Awards Gala Dinner. They will receive a trophy and certificate and will be promoted widely, including in the media.

About Don Walker

Don WalkerDr Don Walker, past chairman of the Health Informatics Society of Australia (HISA)  and a pioneer in the application of computers in Australian healthcare, has an untiring commitment to the field that has spanned decades. Don has made a major contribution to Australian health informatics, particularly in the area of terminologies. 

Past Winners

2019 Don Walker Award for Best Clinical Abstract

A/Prof Kerryn Butler-Henderson

Matiu Bush

Conversation as therapy (CaTPin): The world’s first wearable to detect loneliness.

2019 Don Walker Award for Best Industry Abstract


Steve Reinecke

Evaluating the use of UVC light devices in a clinical setting to reduce pathogens on computer workstations

2018 Best Industry Abstract Dr Zachary Tan, CancerAid
2018 Best Clinical Abstract A/Prof Cheryl McCullagh, The Sydney Children’s Hospitals Network
2017 Don Walker Effectiveness Gavin Bott, Healthy Hearing: Children’s Health Queensland Hospital and Health Service
2017 Don Walker Access Dr James Haridy, Royal Melbourne Hospital
2017 Don Walker Efficiency Dr Thomas Scodellaro, Royal Children’s Hospital
2016 Don Walker Effectiveness A/Prof Meredith Makeham, Australian Institute of Health Innovation, Macquarie University
2016 Don Walker Access Min Zaw Lwin, eHealth NSW
2016 Don Walker Efficiency Dr Mary Lam, University of Sydney
2015 Don Walker Effectiveness Patricia Liebke, UnitingCare Health
2015 Don Walker Access Amy Dellit, Queensland Aboriginal & Islander Health Council
2015 Don Walker Efficiency Lorna Green, OnBase By Hyland
2014 Don Walker Effectiveness Prof Steven Shaha, Allscripts
2014 Don Walker Access Wendy Carroll, Sanofi
2014 Don Walker Efficiency Cathy Fuhrman, Sharp HealthCare
2013 Don Walker Effectiveness Helen Delimitros, BioGrid Australia
2013 Don Walker Access Dr Leon Heffer, Arthritis Victoria
2013 Don Walker Efficiency Chuck Parker, Continua Health Alliance
2012 Don Walker Effectiveness Alice Freyne, Surgical Multimedia Services
2012 Don Walker Access Geraldine McDonald, Arthritis Victoria
2012 Don Walker Efficiency Jenny O’Neill, EpiSoft
2011 Don Walker Effectiveness Kristy Brown CancerAid Redcliffe & Caboolture Hospitals, Adelle Collins, Queensland Health
2011 Don Walker Access Tracey Cocciolone & Ellen Cumberland, eHealth Program, Queensland Health
2011 Don Walker Efficiency Marienne Hibbert University of Melbourne, BioGrid Australia, Jason Lohrey Arcitecta, Naomi Rafael BioGrid Australia, Michael Harold Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research, Julie Johns BioGrid Australia, Mario Guerrieri Radiation Oncology Victoria, Ian Jones Royal Melbourne Hospital, Peter Gibbs Royal Melbourne Hospital, BioGrid Australia, Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research
2010 Don Walker Effectiveness Lahn Straney, Moving On Audits
2010 Don Walker Access Melanie Todd, Vantage Laboratories
2010 Don Walker Efficiency Justin Boyle & Derek Ireland, Australian E-Health Research Centre, CSIRO ICT Centre
2009 Don Walker Effectiveness Grahame Grieve, Kestral Computing
2009 Don Walker Efficiency John Johnston, Pen Computer Systems
2008 Don Walker Efficiency David Dinh , Dr Michael Dinh, Dr Matthew Chu, osTechnology
2008 Don Walker Access Dr Ping Yu

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This