AIDH facebook
Select Page


Branko Cesnik Awards

The Branko Cesnik Awards recognise the best submitted academic/scientific papers

Presented at the AIDH annual Health Informatics Conference.

About the awards

The Branko Cesnik Awards recognise the best submitted academic/ scientific papers in two categories for AIDH’s annual Health Informatics Conference (HIC).

  • Best Academic/Scientific Paper
  • Best Student Academic/Scientific Paper

Submissions are subject to a double-blind peer review as per the HIC review guidelines. The winner is determine by the review score and the presentation of the paper at the HIC conference.

About the Committee

The Branko Cesnik Awards Committee comprises a minimum of three (3) but ideally five (5) people, including the HIC Academic & Scientific Program Co-Chair, a representative from the Australasian Institute of Digital Health and at least one other to participate in the selection process for each award. They will review the presentations onsite.


All academic/scientific papers submitted to HIC will automatically become candidates for the Branko Cesnik Awards.

  • Authors do not need to be a member of AIDH to be eligible
  • Submissions must be original work and not previously presented before (material that has been previously presented ONLY at a conference outside Australia will be considered, provided the paper is not identical to any that has been previously published)
  • The abstract submitted must be in English

Best Student Paper of the year Award
To be eligible to receive the student award, student authors must be enrolled part time or full time at a recognised tertiary educational institute. They must be the principal author of the paper and not only the first named author. The AIDH office will contact the supervisors of those student papers that are shortlisted. A letter/email of support from the supervisor detailing the adherence to the criteria will be required for the paper to be assessed as an award candidate. It shall be the responsibility of the supervisor or organisation to provide proper documentation and ensure its accuracy.

Selection & review process

The following criteria determine the score for the Branko Cesnik Award:

  • 50% is based on the Industry/Clinical reviews
  • 50% is based on the presentation of the paper at HIC


  • Where two (2) abstracts are given the same total score a joint award shall be recommended.
  • Authors will submit their abstracts under with Industry or Clinical categories.
  • Submissions will be subject to double-blind peer review as per the HIC review guidelines.
  • In each award category, the five (5) papers with the highest scores from the HIC review process will be shortlisted for further assessment by the Branko Cesnik Award committee based on presentation.
  • Presentations are to be reviewed according to the following selection criteria; tone and body language, audio-visual material and their overall audience engagement.
Award presentation

Winners will be presented with their awards at the AIDH Awards Gala Dinner. They will receive a trophy and certificate and will be promoted widely, including in the media.

About Branko Cesnik

Branko CesnikBranko was one of the founding members of the Health Informatics Society of Australia (HISA), the Asia Pacific Association of Medical Informatics (APAMI) and the Australian College of Health Informatics (ACHI).

He was also a member of the Board of the International Medical Informatics Association (IMIA), Vice-President of Membership, senior editor of the Medinfo ’98 Proceedings (Korea). He also served IMIA through a variety of other responsibilities. His great leadership and vision were instrumental in laying the foundation for health informatics developments “Down Under” that occasioned MEDINFO 2007 in Australia. The Branko Cesnik awards recognises his work and give “life” to the further developments in health informatics in Australia.

Past winners

Best Academic/Scientific Paper 2019

A/Prof Kerryn Butler-Henderson

A/Prof Kerryn Butler-Henderson

Exploring the health informatics occupational group in the 2018 Australian health information workforce census

Best Academic/Scientific Student Paper 2019

Timothy Kariotis

Timothy Kariotis

Mind the gap: Information sharing between health, mental health and social care services

2018 Best Scientific Paper A/Prof Melissa Baysari, Macquarie University
2018 Best Student Paper Sami Alkhatib, The University of Melbourne
2017 Best Scientific Paper A/Prof Kerryn Butler-Henderson, FAIDH, CHIA, University of Tasmania   
2017 Best Student Paper Jessica Chen, Macquarie University
2016 Best Scientific Paper Dr Sazzad Hussain, CSIRO   
2016 Best Student Paper Alex Thomas, CHIA, Department of Health & Human Services
2015 Best Scientific Paper Dr Dana Bradford, Australian E-Health Research Centre (CSIRO)
2015 Best Student Paper Dr Jaime Garcia, University of Technology
2014 Best Scientific Paper Dr Mary Lam FAIDH, CHIA, University of Technology, Sydney
2014 Best Student Paper Hamish Thornburn, University of Queensland
2013 Best Scientific Paper Dr Andrew Georgio, FAIDH Centre for Health Systems & Safety Research
2013 Best Student Paper Dr Alison Craswell, University of Wollongong
2012 Best Scientific Paper Prof Jim Warren, University of Auckland
2012 Best Student Paper Dr Jaime Garcia, University of Technology
2011 Best Scientific Paper Jude Michel, Queensland Health
Michael J Lawley, Australian E-Health Research Centre (CSIRO)   
Amy Chu, Queensland Health
John Barned, NEHTA
2011 Best Student Paper Ying Xia
Vivian Cheung
Elsa Garcia
Dr Hang Ding   
Mohan Karunaithi
All from the Australian E-Health Research Center (CSIRO)
2010 Best Scientific Paper Johanna Westbrook, FAIDH   
Connie Lo CHIA,
Margaret Reckmann
William Runciman
Jeffrey Braithwaite   
Richard Day
All from the University of Sydney
2010 Best Student Paper Yulong Gu
Jim Warren
Karen Day
All from the University of Auckland, New Zealand
2009 Best Scientific Paper Dr Nicola T. Shaw
Anjali Kulkarni Rebecca L. Mador
All from the University of Alberta, Candada
2009 Best Student Paper Manal Helal , Australian E-Health Research Center (CSIRO)

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This