AIDH facebook
Select Page

Back to the Organisations Directory index

The South Western Sydney Local Health District - SWSLHD

The South Western Sydney Local Health District is one of the largest health districts in the state.

The District's vision is to provide a healthcare service that is patient focused, equitable and responsive to the changing and developing needs of the communities in south western Sydney.

SWS LHD covers seven Local Government Areas from Bankstown to Wingecarribee and has a population of approximately 820,000 people.

The District is among the most rapidly growing populations in NSW and projected to grow to over more than a million people in the next decade. It is also a vibrant, culturally diverse region with almost a third of its population speaking a language other than English at home.

The District covers both rural and suburban communities and manages six acute public hospitals:

  • Bankstown-Lidcombe Hospital
  • Bowral and District Hospital
  • Campbelltown and Camden Hospitals
  • Fairfield Hospital
  • Liverpool Hospital

The District also operates 14 major community health centres providing prevention, early intervention and community-based treatment, palliative care and rehabilitation services.

Oral Health, Drug Health and Mental Health services are provided at a number of facilities across the District.

Affiliated Health Services include: Karitane, Braeside Hospital, Carrington Centennial Care and the NSW Service for the Treatment and Rehabilitation of Torture and Trauma Survivors.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This