AIDH facebook
Select Page

Presenters at HIC 2024 will be eligible for one of the Institute’s prestigious digital health awards.

This year the Institute will be recognising the achievements of digital health professionals, academics and researchers in the following categories:

Branco Cesnik Award

The Branko Cesnik award recognises the best submitted academic and student academic papers for HIC, AIDH’s annual conference.

  • Best Academic/Scientific Paper
  • Best Student Academic/Scientific Paper

Branko Cesnick (1956-2007) was one of the founding members of the:

  • Health Informatics Society of Australia (HISA)
  • Asia Pacific Association of Medical Informatics (APAMI)
  • Australian College of Health Informatics (ACHI).

He was also a member of the International Medical Informatics Association (IMIA) Board, participating in several roles such as Vice-President of Membership and Senior Editor of the MedInfo98 Conference Proceedings (Korea). He later established the then Centre for Medical Informatics which became a renowned facility for postgraduate health informatics distance education.

Don Walker Award

The Don Walker Award is for the best submitted industry and clinical case study abstracts.

Dr Don Walker was a past Chair of the Health Informatics Society of Australia (HISA) and a pioneer in the application of computers in Australian healthcare. His untiring commitment to the field of health informatics has resulted in a major contribution to digital health in Australia, particularly in the area of terminologies.

Moya Conrick Award

The Moya Conrick Award is presented in recognition of the valuable health and nursing informatics work by the late Dr Moya Conrick. The award goes to the best submitted abstract and presentation at the annual Nursing Midwifery in Digital Health conference.

Dr Moya Conrick was one of the founders of health informatics in Australia, a pioneer in nursing informatics and a leader internationally. Moya worked over 25 years as a nurse, midwife and academic. In 1995 she was one of only two Australian experts, and one of only four scholars outside the USA, to receive the HBO Scholars Award.

She was active in promoting information technology as a tool for health and clinical practice, particularly for nurses. Lecturing in Nursing at Griffith since 1992, she instigated the first subject in nursing and health informatics in Queensland and the second in Australia.

In 2004, she chaired the National Summit of Nursing Informatics Experts on behalf of the federal Department of Health & Ageing which produced the “Framework for Nursing Informatics in Australia”. She also established a special interest group called Nursing Informatics Australia for the Health Informatics Society of Australia.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This